Tea time!

Posted: September 16, 2013 in Aichi-en tree's, Tree maintenance
Tags: , , ,

Recently between me and my fellow apprentice (Juan) we had three junipers to clean and trim. One shimpaku and two Tosho. Juan wanted the shimpaku to work on and I had both of the Tosho’s in the end because I finished my first tree before him.

This is the first tree that I trimmed.

Front

Front

Side

Side

Back

Back

Other side

Other side

This tree has a bit of history, as it was styled by Peter Tea my Sempai this year for my Kinbon magazine, which appeared in Augusts edition. This was its third trim this year even after an out of season re-pot.

The tree after it’s cut back.

imageimage

image

image

The dead was cut away, a couple of weaker branches were completely left as they were very weak and on slightly weak branch, only the strong growth was cut.

It was fun to work on and I hope Tea Sempai approves.

This is the second Tosho I worked on.

image

A very cool tree that I believe was originally collected. I like the way that the trunk is split into two but, it is all the same tree, giving it a uniqueness.

Here’s the tree after it’s trim.

Front

Front

Side

Side

Back

Back

Other side

Other side

The tree is strong all over so, it was a general shape trim all round and the developing branches which, were long were cut back to start to develop some pads.

I hope you enjoyed reading.

Comments
  1. Shah says:

    Some great trimming John looking at the after affect of the tree after you have trimmed it is amazing

Leave a Reply

