A change of pace..

Posted: July 18, 2013 in Aichi-en tree's, Japan, Tree maintenance
Tags: , , ,

It seems for now that we have broken the back of the candle cutting which, has freed us up to do a few other things. It is certainly nice to have a change of jobs.

Yesterday I was given the job of trimming a Tsugi/Cryptomeria. I got a little way into it when I thought it might be nice to share it here.

We have only a couple on the nursery and it was nice to be assigned the tree. My tutor back home (John Trott of Mendip Bonsai Studio) doesn’t have a favourite specie to work with but, crypto’s would certainly be up there in his top 10. It has rubbed off on me a bit too and I certainly have a bit of a soft spot for them.

Here’s some pictures of the tree when I whipped out the camera.

image

image

image

image

A mug for scale.

image

This is the section I had already done on the top.

image

image

This is the finished result after pulling a late one last night to finish the job. I have to say it was a pleasure to work with and I really enjoyed it.

image

Thanks for reading.

Comments
  1. Admin says:

    Nice work… Like this specific upright style most of these plants have. Just have to find a decent starter, and I would gladly add it to my collection…

  2. Job well done John. By the way, the trees I’m looking after for you are growing like the clappers!!!

  3. Frank says:

    Stunning result! A classic crypto image.

Leave a Reply

