1-0 to the little guy…

Posted: July 18, 2013 in Japan
Tags: , ,

Having lived in the countryside back home & growing up on a farm, I’ve always been surrounded by nature and always had an interest in it. So, coming to a foreign place with a different climate and flora & fauna, some what intrigues me. I have been thinking for a while that a post on some of the critter’s here that surround me at Aichi-en would be a good idea. Recently in my free time I have been trying my best to take some pictures of said subject. It seems to be a tough job though. My feeling is it is a harsh place to survive and is a bit dog eat dog here because nothing seems to stops still for very long, if at all. Having said that I have managed to get some decent pic’s.

Now referring to the title…

I was fortunate enough (whilst pottering around with the camera) to meet a couple of guys having a tussle.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

As I crept closer (to get some better pictures), I disturbed them I think and brought their match to a premature end.

image

image

image

The Victor (or at least for now)!

image

He was tuckered right out (poor fella) and happy for me to get a nice photo of him.
It was nice to see the little guy win and it backed up a theory of mine. I noticed before that these little lizard’s seem to have their own territory round the nursery and I normally disturb them with the hose watering the tree’s here (cold water obviously isn’t for them, haha). Knowing that I guessed that they fight for the best spots and this only confirmed it.

Here’s some other creatures that stopped still long enough for me few snaps of.

A nice orange coloured butterfly that unfortunately wouldn’t play ball and open its wings whilst still but, you can see a glimpse of it in the first photo.
image

image

image

A nice blue dragonfly I think it must have been about 3 inches/7.5cm long in body length.

image

image

A cicada. These seem particularly flighty and make a hell of a racket mostly in the morning and evening. I felt really fortunate to get such a good picture of it considering how jumpy they are. A very beautiful insect.

For an idea of scale the piece of wood is 4cm wide.

image

A type of wasp chewing on the wood to build a nest somewhere. They have long dangly front legs when they fly which looks very strange.

image

image

image

There’s some others I’d like to get some photo’s of but, that’s all for now.

Thanks for reading.

Comments
  1. Fab! I’ve always been a lover of nature. cheers, dan

  2. John trott says:

    Are you looking to fill David Attenborough’s shoes when he finally calls it a day!

Leave a Reply

