Kiku-seki

Posted: June 22, 2013 in Japan
Tags:

I have to apologise but, I’ve been feeling lazy and haven’t posted since my arrival (I blame the jet lag). I have some idea’s for some posts which hopefully I’ll get round to soon but, for now I thought I would share this.

Yesterday we went to a nursery just before the night auction with Fu Sempai because Oyakata was at a meeting in Kyoto. The nursery belonged to Ishi-San who I believe is the president of the Japanese Shohin Association. Ishi-San had an amazing garden with some stunning tree’s and he kindly showed us his shohin and mame pot collection. The maker’s included Yusen, Tokufuji, Kozan, early Syukuho, haruyoshi and antique Chinese (which small pots are rare) just to name a few. For anyone who doesn’t know, they are as good as it gets for shohin pots and very expensive. I was like a kid in a sweet shop.

Just before leaving Ishi-San very kindly gave us a gift of a Kiku-seki which is a chrysanthemum suiseki.image

My mug for scale

My mug for scale

Should be easy enough to find space in my luggage when I take it home πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading.

Comments
  1. Mike Jones says:

    Brilliant John. Your spelling of Japanese looks mighty impressive but actually I would not know if they were right or not buddy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

