Here we go again…

Posted: June 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

Time has gone quickly and I’m at this moment, at the airport waiting for my 14-15 hour flight to Nagoya, Japan. I can’t say I’m a big fan of flying but, needs must and it’s certainly going to be worth it. 

 
It has felt like a stressful month or so, trying to sell my tree’s, relocating tree’s, organising everything and buying what I need for my departure. It will be nice to go back, work hard, learn some new stuff and just focus on doing some bonsai.
 
I’m looking forward to meeting Juan, who I believe will be my sempai (older apprentice/guide) and I hope we can be good friends. I’ve been told he’s very passionate about bonsai & very talented already which, sounds awesome and I’m sure we will hit it off. It will be nice also, to see my Oyakata and all the family again.
 
It is a strange feeling knowing that I will be away for potentially  5 years or at least 3 years, with only an occasional brief visit home. I imagine it would feel very alien to some people but, I have to say it is quite refreshing to me, experiencing other people’s culture. Though, I’m sure there will be moments when I miss home and the UK. I find it’s only when your away you really appreciate your country and feel most proud of it.
 
Finally I’d like to thank all who enquired/bought my tree’s for sale. I hope they do well/prosper and I look forward to seeing some of them again when I return. Any of the tree’s that are left are now relocated and not for sale.
I’d also like to thank all my friends/well wisher’s for their continued support and help. 
Also, a special thank you to all the friend’s who have offered to care for some of my tree’s, it is greatly appreciated.
Lastly a very special thank you to John Trott of Mendip Bonsai Studio. With out him this certainly would never of happened.
 
It is strange how life sends you on certain path’s and if someone had told me I would be doing this 5 years ago or even a year ago, I would have thought they were completely mad.
 
Thanks for reading.
 
Over and out, for now.
Comments
  1. Dave Martin says:

    Best of luck John.
    Enjoy every minute of the experience and learn to read Japanese! Then you can translate some of my accent books :0))
    Dave.

  2. All the very best John and have a safe journey. Look forward to your next ‘posting’. As ever, Dan

  3. Mike Jones says:

    John I cannot imagine what you are feeling right now as the farthest I have been is well, not far. keep the blog going buddy 🙂

    MJ

  4. John Trott says:

    All I can say to you is, enjoy your new life in both work and play.
    I have been indebted for the help you have given me over the years I have known you.
    You have the right attitude and learning ability to go right to the forefront of bonsai in the future.
    Look forward to seeing you in you ‘holidays’
    Cheers
    JT

  5. simon collins says:

    Good luck, john, I’m sure you will achieve everything you hope for.
    Have a great time,
    best wishes from me and all your friends at Taunton & Somerset Bonsai Club, we look forward to following your posts.
    Simon.

Leave a Reply

