Full Circle – The Royal Cornwall show

Posted: June 10, 2013 in Shows and Exhibitions
Tags: , ,

This last week I’ve been at The Royal Cornwall show helping my friend/mentor John Trott with his bonsai display in the floral marquee. This was the first show that I helped John with, five years ago and I’ve been each year since. I enjoy helping out at show’s and it really felt fitting that it was to be the last show that I will be attending, before my return to Japan and the start of my apprenticeship.

I know that there will be some people in the UK, certainly in bonsai circles who would perhaps be.. a little dismissive of county shows or even RHS shows (where bonsai display’s are judged at their own merit, along side all other forms of horticultural display’s). Though, I can see why some people might be dismissive, I believe that a lot of good, can and is done, at these events.
The real fact is that the amount of people into/keep bonsai in the country is a very, very, small proportion of the population. For bonsai to grow/develop in this country people need to be exposed to bonsai in a positive way. Rather than just the cheap mass-produced Chinese tree’s many people generally kill, on a mass scale from supermarkets and garden centres. We all start somewhere in our bonsai hobby and the more exposure the UK can get, the better, I think.
These show’s are a great place to show people a snippet of the reality of bonsai and give them a brief understanding of what bonsai are about. Potentially getting people inspired and interested in taking up the hobby or at least de-mystifying many of the misconceptions.

Well that’s enough of me on my soap box. Here are some picture’s of the display we put together.

The whole display.

The whole display.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

It is far from the traditional Japanese way of displaying tree’s but, it’s certainly no mean feat. Displaying this many tree’s from a single collection at once takes a hell of a lot of hard work, consideration and preparation.

Helping & going to show’s has helped me to learn a lot over the past five years which, I’m very great full for.

Thanks for reading.

Comments
  1. A useful and well-considered posting. And yes John, you are quite right, it is the hard work of the bonsai traders that showcases bonsai to the general public and helps to bring in more ‘new-comers’ to the hobby. Mendip Bonsai Studio’s contribution in this way has been stoic and the Gold Award they received for their display in Cornwall was well deserved.

  2. Frank says:

    Well said and bon voyage!

  3. Frank says:

    Well said and bon voyage! Happy borthday John!

Leave a Reply

