Aichi-en

Posted: April 2, 2013 in Japan
Tags:

I got stuck in straight away when I got to Aichi-en helping to re-pot some big maples so, had little time to take some photo’s. However I took some photo’s around the nursery this morning with my iPad. I’ve brought my camera but, you know when you go away and theirs always one thing you forget. Well I left my battery charger behind.. Sigh.

Here some pictures of the nursery.

image

image

image

image

image

A few random tree’s.

image

Quite an interesting style trident

Quite an interesting style trident

image
Cute shohin trident

Cute shohin trident


image
Massive Chinese quince

Massive Chinese quince


Really stocky ume/apricot. Which Oyakata re-potted yesterday. It's never flowered yet.

Really stocky ume/apricot. Which Oyakata repotted yesterday. It’s never flowered yet.


Huge needle juniper

Huge needle juniper


image

image

One of the maples I helped to re-pot yesterday

One of the maples I helped to re-pot yesterday

Awesome dwarf hinoki/chirimen. Khufu size. I'd love this one.

Awesome dwarf hinoki/chirimen. Khufu size. I’d love this one.

This is a persimmon for my mentor/John Trott back home. I believe this is the same variety as one he has which, he is trying to find out what kind of persimmon it is exactly. I will ask Oyakata about it when I have a chance.
image

This black pine was part of today’s work.

Before

Before

It involved plucking needles down to five pairs on every shoot and removing excess shoots were there were more than two shoots. This weakens the tree with an aim to balance the growth and opens it up so light & air can reach the inner branches.

After

After

Comments
  1. Dave Martin says:

    Glad to see you arrived safely and are getting to work.
    I wish you every success there I envy you greatly, have a wonderful time.

  2. Thanks Dave for your kind comments. It’s amazing here and I still feel like I have to pinch myself every morning.

  3. John Trott says:

    Looks like your enjoying your work!!!!
    The persimmon certainly looks like the large one in my collection.

    • I’m 99% sure it is the same one. There is another one here with leaves on and it has the same leaves. The leaves were cut on this one for the winter which you might want to consider back home.

  4. Delighted for you John that all seems to be going so well. I can’t believe it’s nearly 2 weeks since you left. As you know, I’m not an enthusiastic “reader” but I have thoroughly enjoyed reading through your Blog pages — all very interesting. Keep up the good work and please kill off the “Mr Barton” bit — I’m “Dan” — you know … “the man!!!”. LOL

    • Haha. ‘Dan the Man’ it is! Thanks a lot I really appreciate it. I try to keep it as short and sweet as I can because I know it can be a little frustrating wadding through massive posts.

Leave a Reply

