UK Shohin Show

Posted: March 30, 2013 in My Trees, Shows and Exhibitions
Tags: ,

It was an early start sunday morning and the roads on the way to Failand were pretty treacherous. There were three cars and a van which had skidded onto the verge (the van had flipped over too) due to icy patches near Bristol airport. Despite this we ploughed on and we made to the show. It was bitterly cold and I was glad to get inside. All the display tables were put out the night before and all that was needed was for people to set up the displays. After helping my mentor unload the car and partly setup his sales area I started with my display. I pretty much knew how it was going to go but, with a couple of helpful pointers from my good friend Mark Cooper it was done.

Photo courtesy of Mark Cooper

Photo courtesy of Mark Cooper

Close up of my accent

Close up of my accent

I was pleased with my contribution, I had some lovely comments from people, which I was very grateful for and thank you all.
This was my first time that I had exhibited any of my trees and it was certainly an experience I will never forget. I was never in a hurry to start to show tree’s but, I felt that these too didn’t look too bad and I was glad that they got excepted.
I’ve heard that exhibiting tree’s is like putting a part of yourself/soul on display to be scrutinized by the world and well it certainly felt like it. It was a strange feeling watching people looking, talking and taking pictures of my display. I just hope that most of it was positive and it was enjoyed.
The standard was very high and their weren’t any displays that looked out-of-place. This was a credit to the tree selection by Mark, Ritta and Bob.
The venue is on the small side but, this only helped to aid the atmosphere (I can concur that it was as every bit as good as the reports as well) and the lighting is second to none (Which is more than can be said for some venue’s).
All in all I was very proud to be a part if the show, it was a complete success and long may it continue.

I’m sorry that this post was so late but, with evening an evening class, club meeting and getting prepared for my departure it’s been pretty chaotic. Well my bags are packed.. Next stop.. Japan!

Leave a Reply

