Chasing Dream’s..

Posted: March 16, 2013 in Japan
Tags: , , , ,

Time has moved fast and I will soon be departing for the holy land (well at least in my eye’s anyway) that is Japan, the mecca of bonsai. It will be my first time their and Japan is somewhere I have always wanted to go, even before I got into bonsai.

Wallpapers-room_com___Japan_Leather_Flag_by_igorrcarvalho_1280x800[1]

I’m going for a month to stay at Aichi-en in Nagoya, with Mr Tanaka and Peter Tea.

Photo courtesy of Peter Tea

Photo courtesy of Peter Tea

I’ve been looking forward to this for quite a while and I’m glad that it is finally arriving. There is a purpose to me going and it’s for a trial to hopefully become an apprentice to Mr Tanaka. I’m a realist about these things, it is by no means a given and I know I’m not the only one to apply/go for a trial, for this position. So, I’ve not been blowing my trumpet too loudly for that exact reason. Maybe the odd’s aren’t stacked in my favour but, I’m certainly going to give it my best shot. If I can enjoy myself, learn as much as I can, work as hard as I can and represent myself, my family and the UK in a positive light I’ll be a pretty happy guy either way. It will certainly be an adventure and is partly why I started this blog to share my experiences whilst their.
I feel a very lucky, humbled and privileged person to be going and I have a lot of people to thank.
First I’d like to thank Mr Tanaka and Peter Tea for this amazing opportunity. Without them it obviously wouldn’t be possible and without out Peter’s superb blog, also. If you haven’t read Peter’s blog before, I highly recommend it. It is so informative and interesting I can’t really sing its praises enough.
Secondly I like to thank my family, without them and their support it really wouldn’t be possible.
I’d also like to thank Dan & Cea Barton, Mark & Ritta cooper, Mo & Martin (especially for Noelanders), Malcolm, everyone at CBC, Taunton club, BBS, people at workshops, friend’s and all well wisher’s for their constant encouragement and support. I really appreciate it and it goes a long way.
Last of but, by no means least I especially would thank my mentor. Without him I most certainly wouldn’t be in this position. He’s done so much for me I really don’t know where to start but, thank you.

So watch this space and I hopefully should have some great things to post about my time in Japan.

Comments
  1. bonsology says:

    I’m really excited for you. I’ve been following Peter Tea’s experience and am intrigued. Keep us informed, I want to hear all about it!! Even if Mr. Tanaka doesn’t think you’ll be a good fit, although I doubt that will be the case, there is a thousand and one other nurseries in Japan that you can try on for size. Have a great trip and good luck!!

  2. bonsai eejit says:

    Good luck and lets see lots of blog posts from Japan 🙂 I’ll help spread the word …
    Regards

    Ian

    • Thanks a lot Ian. I’ve been following your blog for a long time, you do an excellent job and how you manage to keep up with the daily posts I’ll never know. I really have to say special thank you because you started me off in reading bonsai blogs and I think I actually found Peter’s blog through yours. So, thanks a million! I want to try and document as much as I can but, what time I will have to blog I don’t know. I’ll try my best to post as often as I can.

      John

Leave a Reply

